Xbox OneXbox 360Xbox Live ArcadePlayStation 4PlayStation 3PlayStationNetworkPS VitaNintendo Wii UNintendo Wii3DSNintendo DSPCBlu-ray
Search
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.

Login | Register | PW? ]
You have 0 points
   >>   Index     Blogs     Point Shop     Archive     News     Members     Online     Pages     Contact     Links     REGISTER FREE!
   >>   Index     Top 100     Upcoming     Cheats     FAQ
   >>   Index    Posts Today    Search
   >>   Index     Features     Reviews     Previews     Interviews     Hardware     Latest
   >>   Index     Latest     X360 Vids     XBLA Vids     PS3 Vids     PSN Vids     Wii Vids     NDS Vids     Win Vids
   >>   Index     Latest     X360 Shots     XBLA Shots     PS3 Shots     PSN Shots     Wii Shots     DS Shots     PC Shots
   >>   Index     Latest
The Legend of Zelda:...
90% - 330 days ago

Lost Planet 3 Review
90% - Oct 1, 2013 14:29

Rayman Legends Review
90% - Sep 13, 2013 10:52

Tom Clancy's Splinte...
90% - Sep 10, 2013 09:45

BioShock Infinite Re...
80% - Jul 30, 2013 07:39
Bjorn - Admin - 21 hours ago
New VITA review: Tales Of Hearts R. Check it out.
Bjorn - Admin - Yesterday
Our Assassin's Creed: Unity review is NOW ONLINE! Check it out!
Bjorn - Admin - 7 days ago
New review online: Lords Of The Fallen, read it now!
Bjorn - Admin - 7 days ago
This mornings review: Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel for Xbox 360.
Bjorn - Admin - 8 days ago
New Xbox One review: HALO: THE MASTER CHIEF COLLECTION!
Bjorn - Admin - 11 days ago
New PS4 review: The Legend Of Korra. Check it out!
NEW SHOUT
You must login to post in the shoutbox.
View All (799)
NBA 2K14 (X360)
News Articles Screens Video Cheats FAQ Files Forum
85
NBA 2K14 REVIEW
A new generatin of NBA.

Posted by PlayDevil.com Staff on Oct 18, 2013 14:14 (Oct 18, 2013 14:14)

 
Written by: Alex
 
 
2K14?
 
To everyone I have ever undermined or sneered at for only playing sports games and thus not being real gamers, I take it all back. I am sorry, because 2K Games latest basketball title, "NBA 2K14" has shown me the truth; sports games are deeper, harder, and more complex than any of the 'real' games I play.
 
Presentation:
 
It is fair to say that most of the NBA's global audience will never have been to a live game, and 2K clearly had that in mind with their recreation of the sport. Everything about 2K14 feels like watching a game TV, with commentary playing through out, replays, camera angles, everything, right down to the sponsorship, in the right place.
 
This fidelity of detail is not limited to angles and logos however, with each player faithfully reproduced along with coaches, cheerleaders, and crowd, to maintain the authentic feel.
The audio has received similarly close attention. Here again on court and crowd sounds are joined by TV trimmings and licensed music that set the tone for a complete basketball experience.
 
NBA 2K14 screenshot #1
 
Having not played previous year's instalments it is hard to say 2K14 has upped the ante on presentation, but as a newcomer I was very impressed… with even the one time occurrence of a coach walking clean through a player failing to break the overall illusion.
 
Gameplay:
 
NBA 2K14 is complex, but it also manages to be wonderfully intuitively. Starting the game I was met by a title screen that lead me straight into a quick play game. Hitting start however, I quickly discovered that this was a mistake.
 
My problem was that 2K14 is in no way arcadey, and instead attempts to faithfully simulate the sport. The result of this was, that while in many sport games I am able to hold my own, NBA 2K14 wiped the floor with me because I didn't appreciate the importance of the right stick's pro-controls. True, there are pass and shoot buttons, but it is only by manipulating the second stick is it possible to guide a team to victory.
 
Jumping into the training mode I quickly learnt the full range of taps, holds, and stick rotations that make up the selection of required motions, and using these it was possible to take exacting control over each player's dribbles and shots.
 
NBA 2K14 screenshot #2
 
For example, a half rotation in a given direction will allow him to pivot or step in the desired direction before automatically jumping for the shot. Similarly, when stood bouncing the ball or running down court, a simple tap or rotation will result in the baller switching hands or sidestepping defenders. This complexity spans the entire experience, allowing you to execute the full range of perfectly recreated moves, and fouls.
 
Interaction
Rating:
0%
Login to submit your vote!
Share
URL Snag
Comments
Post Comment
Comment Rules
  1. No advertisments, flooding or spamming
  2. All comments should be on topic
  3. Use proper language to express yourself: no cursing or swear words
You may not post comments as a guest. Please register or login to your account.
Username:
Password:
Create a new account?
Forgot your password?



PlayDevil v2.0

PlayDevil v2.0

Click here to listen to PlayDevil's Gaming Podcasts REGISTER FREE on PlayDevil and GET these GOODIES FREE
NBA 2K14
Platform:
Xbox 360


ESRB - Not Yet Rated: Titles listed as RP (Rating Pending) have been submitted to the ESRB and are awaiting final rating. (This symbol appears only in advertising prior to a game's release.)
Our Score
User Score
85
Awesome
0
0 Votes
Game Ranking
Our members have ranked NBA 2K14 4384 out of 4,723 total games.

4383. NBA 2K14
PlayStation 4

4384. NBA 2K14
Xbox 360

4385. NBA 2K14
Xbox One
Screenshots All

NBA 2K14
View all 10 screens in the gallery. go
Video All
NBA 2K14 VIDEO Review
Views: 137
Length: 4:37
Posted: Oct 21, 2013 11:11
home forums blogs games articles media video cheats companies playstation 3 xbox 360 sony psp nintendo wii nintendo ds windows
News | Articles | Blogs | Files | Video | Cheats | Achievements | FAQ
Affiliates: Rock Band 2 | Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare | Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare | Assassin's Creed II | Battlefield 1943 | Super Street Fighter IV | Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit | PilotWings Resort | Ni No Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch | Half-Life 2