Xbox OneXbox 360Xbox Live ArcadePlayStation 4PlayStation 3PlayStationNetworkPS VitaNintendo Wii UNintendo Wii3DSNintendo DSPCBlu-ray
Search
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.

Login | Register | PW? ]
You have 0 points
   >>   Index     Blogs     Point Shop     Archive     News     Members     Online     Pages     Contact     Links     REGISTER FREE!
   >>   Index     Top 100     Upcoming     Cheats     FAQ
   >>   Index    Posts Today    Search
   >>   Index     Features     Reviews     Previews     Interviews     Hardware     Latest
   >>   Index     Latest     X360 Vids     XBLA Vids     PS3 Vids     PSN Vids     Wii Vids     NDS Vids     Win Vids
   >>   Index     Latest     X360 Shots     XBLA Shots     PS3 Shots     PSN Shots     Wii Shots     DS Shots     PC Shots
   >>   Index     Latest
Evolve Review
90% - 184 days ago

The Legend of Zelda:...
90% - Dec 30, 2013 15:26

Lost Planet 3 Review
90% - Oct 1, 2013 14:29

Rayman Legends Review
90% - Sep 13, 2013 10:52

Tom Clancy's Splinte...
90% - Sep 10, 2013 09:45
Bjorn - Admin - 142 days ago
CHECK OUT www.gamerknights.com NOW!!! Its our NEW WEBSITE!
Bjorn - Admin - 149 days ago
Our new website will be ... GAMERKNIGHTS.COM !
Bjorn - Admin - 173 days ago
ScreamRide review for Xbox One is now online.
Bjorn - Admin - 180 days ago
Hand Of Fate review for PS4 is now online.
Bjorn - Admin - 184 days ago
Evolve is our 1000th article/review! Thanks to everybody for supporting us throughout these years!
Bjorn - Admin - 187 days ago
Our 999 article/review is NOW ONLINE! OMG! Game of Thrones: Episode 2 for PS4/XO
NEW SHOUT
You must login to post in the shoutbox.
View All (830)
SAINTS ROW IV (X360)
News Articles Screens Video Cheats FAQ Files Forum
90
HANDS-ON PREVIEW: SAINTS ROW IV
Saints Row 3 was really dumb (in the best way). Is Saints Row IV even dumber? Hands-On Preview!

Posted by PlayDevil.com Staff on Jul 23, 2013 11:19 (Jul 23, 2013 11:19)

Written by: PlayDevil.com
 
 
Saints Row IV Hands-On Preview:
 
Saint’s Row 3 really brought Volition’s open world series into the big-time. Always more bombastic and crass than GTA, SR3 ratcheted the stupid up to 11, and was all the better for it. Now, with "Saints Row IV" just a month away, we had chance to play about with a basically final build to see what idiocy the developers have added over the last couple of years.
 
It’s clear, straight away, that Volition have taken the knob that was already set to 11, and rotated it round just about as hard as they can. Within the first hour, you become president, Keith David is the Vice President, you save the world, which is then attacked by aliens, and then get beamed up into some Matrix meets The Truman Show false lifestyle you need to escape from.
 
We were also given the chance to see some of the late game open-world action, which mixes a hefty dose of Crackdown into the mix, giving the player a number of super powers, and the chance to upgrade them by finding hundreds of upgrades scattered around the rooftops of Steelport.
 
The action, activities and humour have all been refined, making this a big, stupid experience that still feels pretty refreshing, even only a couple of years after Saint’s Row 3.
 
Indeed, humour in games is pretty much acknowledged as the hardest thing to do – maybe it’s the facial expressions, or the delivery timing, but no-one has really pulled it off. Conker’s Bad Fur Day is pretty much the only game whose one-liners have had me break out with laughter. But the developers here have been really savvy and made more of the humour situational and slapstick- which I think is better suited to games, but still so few try.
 
Speaking to one of the producers over a beer and a hog roast later, he agreed that too few games try this approach, and seemed pretty glad that I got it, and the references, which come from many action and sci-fi films of the last 20 years.
 
We chatted for a good half an hour after the demo, and talked about everything from the game, to the financial woes of THQ and the studio’s worry they would collapse, to losing the Red Faction IP, which seemed to be viewed in two very different ways- one of great sadness the studio won’t get to make those games anymore, and another that they are excited to see where the games go and getting the chance to play them as fans rather than developers.
 
We also talked about how they would love to bring back Freespace, and that a new, top-secret project is being started up for next generation consoles and PCs. Unfortunately that was all I got – so whether it is a Saint’s Row 5 or a whole new IP (as Volition lost everything else in the THQ auction) I don’t know. But it was great to see guys who were just trying to make a game as fun as possible, rather than making it grey, drab and realistic.
 
And given the fact it seems like, as a retrospective, exactly what most developers have tried and failed to do this generation, I’m glad that these consoles will close out with what looks like 2 riotous, massive, colourful and explosive experiences in GTA and SRIV.
 
And judging by my 2 hours, SRIV is looking like quite some blowout.
Interaction
Rating:
0%
Login to submit your vote!
Share
URL Snag
Comments
Post Comment
Comment Rules
  1. No advertisments, flooding or spamming
  2. All comments should be on topic
  3. Use proper language to express yourself: no cursing or swear words
You may not post comments as a guest. Please register or login to your account.
Username:
Password:
Create a new account?
Forgot your password?



PlayDevil v2.0

PlayDevil v2.0

Click here to listen to PlayDevil's Gaming Podcasts REGISTER FREE on PlayDevil and GET these GOODIES FREE
Saints Row IV
Platform:
Xbox 360


ESRB - Not Yet Rated: Titles listed as RP (Rating Pending) have been submitted to the ESRB and are awaiting final rating. (This symbol appears only in advertising prior to a game's release.)
Our Score
User Score
90
Awesome
0
0 Votes
Game Ranking
Our members have ranked Saints Row IV 4368 out of 4,763 total games.

4367. Saints Row IV
Playstation 3

4368. Saints Row IV
Xbox 360

4369. F1 2013
Playstation 3
Screenshots All

Saints Row IV
View all 8 screens in the gallery. go
home forums blogs games articles media video cheats companies playstation 3 xbox 360 sony psp nintendo wii nintendo ds windows
News | Articles | Blogs | Files | Video | Cheats | Achievements | FAQ
Affiliates: Rock Band 2 | Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare | Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare | Assassin's Creed II | Battlefield 1943 | Super Street Fighter IV | Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit | PilotWings Resort | Ni No Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch | Half-Life 2