Xbox OneXbox 360Xbox Live ArcadePlayStation 4PlayStation 3PlayStationNetworkPS VitaNintendo Wii UNintendo Wii3DSNintendo DSPCBlu-ray
Search
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.

Login | Register | PW? ]
You have 0 points
   >>   Index     Blogs     Point Shop     Archive     News     Members     Online     Pages     Contact     Links     REGISTER FREE!
   >>   Index     Top 100     Upcoming     Cheats     FAQ
   >>   Index    Posts Today    Search
   >>   Index     Features     Reviews     Previews     Interviews     Hardware     Latest
   >>   Index     Latest     X360 Vids     XBLA Vids     PS3 Vids     PSN Vids     Wii Vids     NDS Vids     Win Vids
   >>   Index     Latest     X360 Shots     XBLA Shots     PS3 Shots     PSN Shots     Wii Shots     DS Shots     PC Shots
   >>   Index     Latest
The Legend of Zelda:...
90% - 354 days ago

Lost Planet 3 Review
90% - Oct 1, 2013 14:29

Rayman Legends Review
90% - Sep 13, 2013 10:52

Tom Clancy's Splinte...
90% - Sep 10, 2013 09:45

BioShock Infinite Re...
80% - Jul 30, 2013 07:39
Bjorn - Admin - Yesterday
XO review of The Walking Dead Complete S2 now online.
Bjorn - Admin - 7 days ago
PES 2015 Xbox One review ready and ONLINE!
Bjorn - Admin - 7 days ago
New X360 review: ESCAPE Dead Island is now online. really escape it!
Bjorn - Admin - 17 days ago
Our GTA V review is here , PS4!
Bjorn - Admin - 17 days ago
New PS4 review: Never Alone
Bjorn - Admin - 20 days ago
Xbox One review of Far Cry 4, read it now!
NEW SHOUT
You must login to post in the shoutbox.
View All (806)
THE WALKING DEAD (XBLA)
News Articles Screens Video Cheats FAQ Files Forum
80
THE WALKING DEAD - SEASON FINALE EPISODE 5 - REVIEW
After a perhaps over-long Episode 4, does ‘No Time Left’ provide a fitting finale to this year’s best episodic series?

Posted by PlayDevil.com Staff on Dec 7, 2012 14:01 (Dec 7, 2012 14:01)

Written by: Ian
 
 
Too much left?
 
After a perhaps over-long Episode 4, does ‘No Time Left’ provide a fitting finale to this year’s best episodic series?
 
Storyline:
 
Perhaps as a result, Episode 5 is a breathless conclusion to the series. It’s shorter than the rest of the chapters, perhaps only taking an hour to go through, but it has to rank as one of the best hours I have ever spent playing games. By now, I expect you know the plot of the previous episode, but if not, there are some spoilers below.
 
With Lee bitten, it’s a frantic rush to uncover who has abducted Clem, recover her, and escape Savannah before it’s all too late. I was never expecting a happy ending, but so much just happened that I was left numb with loss for half of the game. And the ending is only worse.
 
The Walking Dead Ep 5 screenshot #1
 
Games are normally something I play for fun, and it’s only a couple of times that I’ve ever welled up in response to the emotional storytelling in a game. The Walking Dead, however, such is the sense of attachment you get for certain characters, left me sobbing for a good couple of minutes afterwards. I could even see some of it coming, and tried to control my emotions, but the ending is even more than I thought I could take. It’s just amazing, and you need to experience this for yourself.
 
Gameplay:
 
Episode 5 plays like the other episodes, but it includes perhaps more of an action focus. Once Lee’s focus has moved away from survival, the more gung-ho attitudes he takes on make for a more action-orientated couple of chapters. That works out just fine though, because it all plays to the story so well- you really feel for a man who will do literally anything at this point to get back his little girl.
 
The Walking Dead Ep 5 screenshot #2
 
It’s also different playing the majority of the episode by yourself- regardless of who you managed to save in previous episodes. You certainly feel that sense of utter loneliness as a result. If you were mostly there for the puzzles though- be warned there are very few, and those that are there are mostly quick throwaways to a certain extent. The game seems to press on with an almost hideous certainty, far eclipsing the pace of the other chapters, but never feeling like it’s too much.
 
It’s a really tightly designed piece of content.
 
Interaction
Rating:
0%
Login to submit your vote!
Share
URL Snag
Comments
Post Comment
Comment Rules
  1. No advertisments, flooding or spamming
  2. All comments should be on topic
  3. Use proper language to express yourself: no cursing or swear words
You may not post comments as a guest. Please register or login to your account.
Username:
Password:
Create a new account?
Forgot your password?



PlayDevil v2.0

PlayDevil v2.0

Click here to listen to PlayDevil's Gaming Podcasts REGISTER FREE on PlayDevil and GET these GOODIES FREE
The Walking Dead
Platform:
Xbox Live Arcade


ESRB - Not Yet Rated: Titles listed as RP (Rating Pending) have been submitted to the ESRB and are awaiting final rating. (This symbol appears only in advertising prior to a game's release.)

5 Episodes, first released in April 2012.
Our Score
User Score
95
Unbelievable!
85
Awesome
90
Awesome
80
Good
0
0 Votes
Game Ranking
Our members have ranked The Walking Dead 4226 out of 4,737 total games.

4225. The Walking Dead
PlayStationNetwork

4226. The Walking Dead
Xbox Live Arcade

4227. Diabolical Pitch
Xbox Live Arcade
Screenshots All

The Walking Dead
View all 21 screens in the gallery. go »
home forums blogs games articles media video cheats companies playstation 3 xbox 360 sony psp nintendo wii nintendo ds windows
News | Articles | Blogs | Files | Video | Cheats | Achievements | FAQ
Affiliates: Rock Band 2 | Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare | Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare | Assassin's Creed II | Battlefield 1943 | Super Street Fighter IV | Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit | PilotWings Resort | Ni No Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch | Half-Life 2