Xbox OneXbox 360Xbox Live ArcadePlayStation 4PlayStation 3PlayStationNetworkPS VitaNintendo Wii UNintendo Wii3DSNintendo DSPCBlu-ray
Search
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.

Login | Register | PW? ]
You have 0 points
   >>   Index     Blogs     Point Shop     Archive     News     Members     Online     Pages     Contact     Links     REGISTER FREE!
   >>   Index     Top 100     Upcoming     Cheats     FAQ
   >>   Index    Posts Today    Search
   >>   Index     Features     Reviews     Previews     Interviews     Hardware     Latest
   >>   Index     Latest     X360 Vids     XBLA Vids     PS3 Vids     PSN Vids     Wii Vids     NDS Vids     Win Vids
   >>   Index     Latest     X360 Shots     XBLA Shots     PS3 Shots     PSN Shots     Wii Shots     DS Shots     PC Shots
   >>   Index     Latest
The Legend of Zelda:...
90% - 208 days ago

Lost Planet 3 Review
90% - 298 days ago

Rayman Legends Review
90% - 316 days ago

Tom Clancy's Splinte...
90% - 319 days ago

BioShock Infinite Re...
80% - 361 days ago
Bjorn - Admin - 6 days ago
Back from our HOLIDAY.Updates coming in ...
Bjorn - Admin - 19 days ago
Our review of Valiant Hearts: The Great War is NOW ONLINE!
Bjorn - Admin - 20 days ago
Sniper Elite 3 review for XBOX ONE, out now!!!
Bjorn - Admin - 20 days ago
XO review of Another World: 20th Anniversary Edition , now online!
Bjorn - Admin - 23 days ago
New site background for this month: Sniper Elite III.Review soon!!
Bjorn - Admin - 23 days ago
New PS4 review: Blue Estate, a new rails shooter!
NEW SHOUT
You must login to post in the shoutbox.
View All (756)
WWE 13 (X360)
News Articles Screens Video Cheats FAQ Files Forum
75
WWE 13 REVIEW
More WWE shenanigans to grapple with.

Posted by PlayDevil.com Staff on Nov 29, 2012 15:19 (Nov 29, 2012 15:19)

Anyone who has played a WWE title before (especially the more recent ones) will pretty much know what to expect as the fairly in depth move lists return along with reversals, comebacks, signature moves and limb targeting. For newcomers the game does have a fairly complex learning curve to get the best out of proceedings but thankfully this is where my previous experience with the games stood me in good stead as I could jump in pretty quickly and have an understanding of how best to approach proceedings.
 
WWE 13 screenshot #3
 
One gameplay area which I have had mixed feelings about is in the AI of computer controlled characters and often matches could be over pretty quickly. It seems this year that the developers have tightened this area as matches are now lengthier, back and forth affairs giving the gameplay a much more realistic feel and this is very pleasing indeed and makes WWE 13 the best in the series for many years.
 
Admittedly it is still far from perfect as sometimes the player can jump back to button bashing particularly if you miss time the spilt second reversal commands and this can ultimately lead to some incredibly frustrating moments. As I have previously stated however the player really needs to practice long and hard to overcome such frustrations in order to get the best out of the game as it really is one that rewards patience and skill.
 
Multiplayer:
 
Another impressive area in the game is in its multiplayer with the vast array of match types and game modes standing out as being very impressive indeed.
 
As expected with the global popularity of WWE the game is incredibly popular online with no problems connecting to matches all of which have played pretty smoothly so far even if there are some very skilled players online who have obviously dedicated an awful lot of time to honing their skills in order to hand out the inevitable ass kicking’s which I hate to admit have happened to me all too regularly.
 
WWE 13 screenshot #4
 
This is only a minor criticism as there are some very well balanced matches online and once these are found then these do provide some excellent enjoyment. It is just a shame however that there is no real way of telling who can play at a similar level as you when joining or creating matches meaning that it is simply a case of pot luck as to whether you have a competitive encounter or a one sided affair.
 
Conclusion:
 
I will openly admit that I had lost a lot of love for the WWE video game franchise in recent years and wondered whether the latest in the series "WWE 13" could rekindle any enjoyment I had with the games throughout their history. It is fair to say that the new inclusions of game modes and gameplay tweaks have certainly improved proceedings making this year’s release the best in recent times.
 
There are still several areas which are far from perfect and lead to some incredibly frustrating moments but if you are willing to overlook these then I am sure that you will find some enjoyment from this well put together package which has lead me to think that the WWE video game franchise is not ready to give up the ghost just yet.
 
 
 
  
 
Pros:
 
+ Excellent presentation
+ New game modes work well
+ Impressive amount of content
 
 
 
Cons:
 
- Lots of practice needed to get the best from proceedings
- Multiplayer hit and miss
- Commentary can be very repetitive

 
 
 Our Rating for WWE 13 Review
0.0
Story
N/A
8.5
Graphics
7.5
Sound
7.0
Multiplayer
7.0
Gameplay
8.5
Value
7.5
Overall
Interaction
Rating:
0%
Login to submit your vote!
Share
URL Snag
Comments
Post Comment
Comment Rules
  1. No advertisments, flooding or spamming
  2. All comments should be on topic
  3. Use proper language to express yourself: no cursing or swear words
You may not post comments as a guest. Please register or login to your account.
Username:
Password:
Create a new account?
Forgot your password?



PlayDevil v2.0

PlayDevil v2.0

Click here to listen to PlayDevil's Gaming Podcasts REGISTER FREE on PlayDevil and GET these GOODIES FREE
WWE 13
Platform:
Xbox 360

  • Release:
    US: October 30, 2012
    EU: October 30, 2012
  • Publisher:
    THQ
  • Developer:
    THQ

ESRB - Not Yet Rated: Titles listed as RP (Rating Pending) have been submitted to the ESRB and are awaiting final rating. (This symbol appears only in advertising prior to a game's release.)
Our Score
User Score
75
Good
0
0 Votes
Game Ranking
Our members have ranked WWE 13 4094 out of 4,625 total games.

4093. WWE 13
Playstation 3

4094. WWE 13
Xbox 360

4095. WWE 13
Nintendo Wii
Screenshots All

WWE 13
View all 11 screens in the gallery. go
Video All
WWE 13 - D-Generatio...
Views: 431
Length: 1:46
Posted: Sep 26, 2012 10:27
home forums blogs games articles media video cheats companies playstation 3 xbox 360 sony psp nintendo wii nintendo ds windows
News | Articles | Blogs | Files | Video | Cheats | Achievements | FAQ
Affiliates: Rock Band 2 | Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare | Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare | Assassin's Creed II | Battlefield 1943 | Super Street Fighter IV | Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit | PilotWings Resort | Ni No Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch | Half-Life 2