Xbox OneXbox 360Xbox Live ArcadePlayStation 4PlayStation 3PlayStationNetworkPS VitaNintendo Wii UNintendo Wii3DSNintendo DSPCBlu-ray
Search
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.

Login | Register | PW? ]
You have 0 points
   >>   Index     Blogs     Point Shop     Archive     News     Members     Online     Pages     Contact     Links     REGISTER FREE!
   >>   Index     Top 100     Upcoming     Cheats     FAQ
   >>   Index    Posts Today    Search
   >>   Index     Features     Reviews     Previews     Interviews     Hardware     Latest
   >>   Index     Latest     X360 Vids     XBLA Vids     PS3 Vids     PSN Vids     Wii Vids     NDS Vids     Win Vids
   >>   Index     Latest     X360 Shots     XBLA Shots     PS3 Shots     PSN Shots     Wii Shots     DS Shots     PC Shots
   >>   Index     Latest
The Legend of Zelda:...
90% - 115 days ago

Lost Planet 3 Review
90% - 205 days ago

Rayman Legends Review
90% - 223 days ago

Tom Clancy's Splinte...
90% - 226 days ago

BioShock Infinite Re...
80% - 268 days ago
Bjorn - Admin - 6 days ago
inFamous: Second Son review ... ONLINE NOW!
Bjorn - Admin - 9 days ago
Our Final Fantasy X/X2 HD Remaster review is OUT NOW! Check our ARTICLES section.
Bjorn - Admin - 9 days ago
New X360 DLC Review: Burial at Sea Episode 2 for BioShock Infinite. Check our Articles section.
Bjorn - Admin - 24 days ago
PS4/XO review of Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes now ONLINE!
Bjorn - Admin - 27 days ago
In depth review of Dark Souls II now online.
Bjorn - Admin - 31 days ago
Our THIEF review for next-gen is ONLINE now!
NEW SHOUT
You must login to post in the shoutbox.
View All (725)
HALO 4 (X360)
News Articles Screens Video Cheats FAQ Files Forum
90
HALO 4 REVIEW
With a new developer, an improved engine, and Bungie well in the past, how does 343 Industries get on with their first original Halo game?

Posted by PlayDevil.com Staff on Nov 19, 2012 14:37 (Nov 19, 2012 14:37)

Written by: Ian
 
 
An angelic return?
 
With a new developer, an improved engine, and Bungie well in the past, how does 343 Industries get on with their first original Halo game? This is a big risk potentially for Microsoft with their mascot. 343 are basically a studio of Halo fans, even if they have been assembled from some of the most talented studios in the world. Can they succeed in this ever-more competitive FPS area with "Halo 4"?
 
Storyline:
 
Halo has always had a bit of a ridiculous storyline, with more acronyms and anagrams than you can shake a stick at. The sci-fi nonsense doesn’t stop here though, and I felt that the game does a pretty poor job at trying to entice new fans into the venerable series, despite the opportunities a new trilogy presents to 343 Industries.
 
Anyway, once you get into the game, which is set 4 years after the events of Halo 3 (at least you don’t really need to know what went down in the previous games too much), all you really need to know is that the Master Chief, Cortana, and the Covenant are back. For those that didn’t care for The Flood, like myself, they are gone, replaced with an all new enemy that will form the focus of the new story arc. Really, I think 343 again could have done better.
 
Halo 4 screenshot #1
 
Too much of the game is spent building up to the moment, which means that too much of the game is spent fighting the same old enemies and AI patterns as the previous games. Let’s hope with the next game 343 has the confidence to break out of the mould and really nail it.
 
Gameplay:
 
Halo games have always had ‘different’ combat, and despite some other aspects drawing on Call of Duty, the core combat remains very different to the majority of shooters. After a few years without a proper Halo game, it was actually quite disconcerting really to have this sense of openness and choice to the combat mechanics. Even the lack of a constant objective marker, someone to follow, or a huge squad around me left me feeling alone, lost, and more than a little scared. But these aren’t bad points- far from it. It meant that Halo felt fresh and new, and each death wasn’t a result of being jipped by the AI or a carefully sequenced event; it was down to my lack of tactical nous and my command of the battlefield.
 
Halo is also very different in the way it forces you to become proficient with just about any and every weapon. Even on the lower difficultly levels the game can only be described as ‘tight’ with ammo, and on Legendary, it’s just downright mean. You’re constantly forced to pick up the weapons lying around or dropped by dead foes, and conservation is a must. Many times in the campaign I was forced into using melee or having to retreat to a previous checkpoint. This could verge upon tiresome at times, but was never awful.
 
Halo 4 screenshot #2
 
You get a good amount of content in the main campaign; the 8 levels doesn’t sound like much, but they’re big, expansive sorts, and even on normal you should get 7-10 hours out of the game, which is as much or more than you can expect from a modern shooter. You get all the traditional gameplay you like, with a mix of corridor and open shooting, tank or vehicle gameplay, chases and escapes. There’s also new enemies and weapons in the mix, so no-one can really complain about the value proposition, especially when you check out the multiplayer component.
 
The one downside with the game is that disc 2 is an install rather than another disc- so you do need plenty of space available to enjoy the full game- 4GB owners beware.
 
Interaction
Rating:
0%
Login to submit your vote!
Share
URL Snag
Comments
Post Comment
Comment Rules
  1. No advertisments, flooding or spamming
  2. All comments should be on topic
  3. Use proper language to express yourself: no cursing or swear words
You may not post comments as a guest. Please register or login to your account.
Username:
Password:
Create a new account?
Forgot your password?



PlayDevil v2.0

PlayDevil v2.0

Click here to listen to PlayDevil's Gaming Podcasts REGISTER FREE on PlayDevil and GET these GOODIES FREE
Halo 4
Platform:
Xbox 360


ESRB - Not Yet Rated: Titles listed as RP (Rating Pending) have been submitted to the ESRB and are awaiting final rating. (This symbol appears only in advertising prior to a game's release.)
Our Score
User Score
90
Awesome
0
0 Votes
Game Ranking
Our members have ranked Halo 4 4061 out of 4,528 total games.

4060. 007 Legends
Xbox 360

4061. Halo 4
Xbox 360

4062. Saint Seiya: Sanctuary Battle
Playstation 3
Screenshots All

Halo 4
View all 20 screens in the gallery. go
home forums blogs games articles media video cheats companies playstation 3 xbox 360 sony psp nintendo wii nintendo ds windows
News | Articles | Blogs | Files | Video | Cheats | Achievements | FAQ
Affiliates: Rock Band 2 | Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare | Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare | Assassin's Creed II | Battlefield 1943 | Super Street Fighter IV | Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit | PilotWings Resort | Ni No Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch | Half-Life 2