Xbox OneXbox 360Xbox Live ArcadePlayStation 4PlayStation 3PlayStationNetworkPS VitaNintendo Wii UNintendo Wii3DSNintendo DSPCBlu-ray
Search
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.

Login | Register | PW? ]
You have 0 points
   >>   Index     Blogs     Point Shop     Archive     News     Members     Online     Pages     Contact     Links     REGISTER FREE!
   >>   Index     Top 100     Upcoming     Cheats     FAQ
   >>   Index    Posts Today    Search
   >>   Index     Features     Reviews     Previews     Interviews     Hardware     Latest
   >>   Index     Latest     X360 Vids     XBLA Vids     PS3 Vids     PSN Vids     Wii Vids     NDS Vids     Win Vids
   >>   Index     Latest     X360 Shots     XBLA Shots     PS3 Shots     PSN Shots     Wii Shots     DS Shots     PC Shots
   >>   Index     Latest
The Legend of Zelda:...
90% - 114 days ago

Lost Planet 3 Review
90% - 204 days ago

Rayman Legends Review
90% - 222 days ago

Tom Clancy's Splinte...
90% - 225 days ago

BioShock Infinite Re...
80% - 267 days ago
Bjorn - Admin - 5 days ago
inFamous: Second Son review ... ONLINE NOW!
Bjorn - Admin - 8 days ago
Our Final Fantasy X/X2 HD Remaster review is OUT NOW! Check our ARTICLES section.
Bjorn - Admin - 9 days ago
New X360 DLC Review: Burial at Sea Episode 2 for BioShock Infinite. Check our Articles section.
Bjorn - Admin - 23 days ago
PS4/XO review of Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes now ONLINE!
Bjorn - Admin - 26 days ago
In depth review of Dark Souls II now online.
Bjorn - Admin - 30 days ago
Our THIEF review for next-gen is ONLINE now!
NEW SHOUT
You must login to post in the shoutbox.
View All (725)
RESIDENT EVIL 6 (X360)
News Articles Screens Video Cheats FAQ Files Forum
75
RESIDENT EVIL 6 REVIEW
After the increasingly action based Resident Evil 4 & 5, and some odd mis-steps in the last few years when it has come to side games, is this the game to restore pride to the Resident Evil franchise?

Posted by PlayDevil.com Staff on Oct 15, 2012 15:03 (Oct 15, 2012 15:03)

Written by: Ian
 
 
Zombified:
 
After the increasingly action based Resident Evil 4 & 5, and some odd mis-steps in the last few years when it has come to side games, is this the game to restore pride to the Resident Evil franchise? With a mostly new team and director on board, is this a fresh start or a tired re-hash?
 
Storyline:
 
Resident Evil games have always had pretty crazy storylines, and 6 doesn’t disappoint. There’s a new virus in town (the C-virus), and a number of shady returning characters are involved, such as Ada Wong. Beyond that, there’s little exposition of how you get to the point that the virus was spread, apart from hilariously, ‘Neo-Umbrella’ developing it. If you go to the time to get rid of your original evil corporation, then at least you could create a new one. Most of the story takes too long to be explained, lots of it is left unanswered or unexplained, and it’s a bit of a mess that struggles to contain the four campaign strands spliced into it.
 
Gameplay:
 
If you thought the story made little sense, playing the game at times makes even less so. I played the campaigns in order, starting off with Leon, before moving onto Chris and then Jake (Ada’s campaign is unlocked after you finish the others, and attempts to help tie up the storyline). Each campaign looks short, being only 5 chapters, but are actually all 6-8 hours long, so you basically get 4 games in one.
 
Resident Evil 6 screenshot #1
 
This sounds like amazing value, and technically it is. However, playing through Chris’s campaign in particular was awful, and to be honest all of the others are pretty painful, especially if you are a long-time fan of the series. In Leon’s campaign I killed over 500 zombies, despite this being the most ‘traditional’ of the campaigns. Heck, you can even play with unlimited ammunition on if you want in Capcom’s crazy quest to make the game more accessible to new players and bring in new fans.
 
Leon’s campaign starts slowly for the first hour, but by the end of the first chapter has devolved into an almost on-rails shooter interspersed with the worst quick-time events you could imagine. You may get to drive, fly a jet and pilot a helicopter, but none of these things feel right, and don’t even get me started on climbing the rope in Leon’s final chapter.
 
Chris’ campaign is basically Gears of War, but awful, with useless cover and terrible shooting mechanics. No matter who you play as the laser sight wobbles like you have Parkinsons disease, and when there is the amount of shooting required as in these levels, things just get incredibly frustrating.
 
Resident Evil 6 screenshot #2
 
Jake’s campaign has some interesting parts where you are being chased by a Nemesis-style creature who is un-killable, but by the time you get there you’ll realise that many of the levels and areas are being recycled, and when you meet up with the other characters you just have to replay a section you already played, just from a different perspective. Tis might be interesting if previous actions or decisions had an effect on these battles, but they don’t whatsoever. There may be 30 hours’ worth of campaign here, but so much of it was a massive disappointment that I’d have much rather just have played a much higher quality, better produced version of Leon’s story.
 
Interaction
Rating:
0%
Login to submit your vote!
Share
URL Snag
Comments
Post Comment
Comment Rules
  1. No advertisments, flooding or spamming
  2. All comments should be on topic
  3. Use proper language to express yourself: no cursing or swear words
You may not post comments as a guest. Please register or login to your account.
Username:
Password:
Create a new account?
Forgot your password?
#3 Oct 18, 2012 20:53:43 (Oct 18, 2012 20:53)

DoFuss

 I need a watch? I know its not a PM, but I can't win any way.

#2 Oct 17, 2012 00:12:45 (Oct 17, 2012 00:12)

DoFuss

 Ah, damn I hate being a writer here sometimes. Good luck guys. 

#1 Oct 16, 2012 15:29:25 (Oct 16, 2012 15:29)

Bjorn - Admin

We're proud to announce our "Resident Evil 6 Competition" including some rare RE6 collector items!

What can you win?

- RE6 PS3 game

- RE6 X360 game

- RE6 Hoodie

- RE6 t-shirt

- RE6 USB Stick (bullet)

- RE6 exclusive watch

What do you need to do to WIN an item. Well if you aren't a member yet, please do so (register) so you can participate on the entire site including competitions.

We'll make it very easy. All you have to do is send us a PM with the item you want including the reason why we should give it to you. Are you a big RE fan, do you collect rare items or ...

Let us know and perhaps you'll win your item!

See picture below:

The competition ends on Friday October 19 at 23.59.

Good luck!




PlayDevil v2.0

PlayDevil v2.0

Click here to listen to PlayDevil's Gaming Podcasts REGISTER FREE on PlayDevil and GET these GOODIES FREE
Resident Evil 6
Platform:
Xbox 360

  • Release:
    US: October 2, 2012
    EU: October 2, 2012
  • Publisher:
    Capcom
  • Developer:
    Capcom

ESRB - Not Yet Rated: Titles listed as RP (Rating Pending) have been submitted to the ESRB and are awaiting final rating. (This symbol appears only in advertising prior to a game's release.)
Our Score
User Score
75
Good
0
0 Votes
Game Ranking
Our members have ranked Resident Evil 6 4004 out of 4,522 total games.

4003. Resident Evil 6
Playstation 3

4004. Resident Evil 6
Xbox 360

4005. Iron Brigade
Xbox Live Arcade
Screenshots All

Resident Evil 6
View all 7 screens in the gallery. go
home forums blogs games articles media video cheats companies playstation 3 xbox 360 sony psp nintendo wii nintendo ds windows
News | Articles | Blogs | Files | Video | Cheats | Achievements | FAQ
Affiliates: Rock Band 2 | Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare | Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare | Assassin's Creed II | Battlefield 1943 | Super Street Fighter IV | Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit | PilotWings Resort | Ni No Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch | Half-Life 2