Xbox OneXbox 360Xbox Live ArcadePlayStation 4PlayStation 3PlayStationNetworkPS VitaNintendo Wii UNintendo Wii3DSNintendo DSPCBlu-ray
Search
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.

Login | Register | PW? ]
You have 0 points
   >>   Index     Blogs     Point Shop     Archive     News     Members     Online     Pages     Contact     Links     REGISTER FREE!
   >>   Index     Top 100     Upcoming     Cheats     FAQ
   >>   Index    Posts Today    Search
   >>   Index     Features     Reviews     Previews     Interviews     Hardware     Latest
   >>   Index     Latest     X360 Vids     XBLA Vids     PS3 Vids     PSN Vids     Wii Vids     NDS Vids     Win Vids
   >>   Index     Latest     X360 Shots     XBLA Shots     PS3 Shots     PSN Shots     Wii Shots     DS Shots     PC Shots
   >>   Index     Latest
The Legend of Zelda:...
90% - 108 days ago

Lost Planet 3 Review
90% - 198 days ago

Rayman Legends Review
90% - 216 days ago

Tom Clancy's Splinte...
90% - 219 days ago

BioShock Infinite Re...
80% - 261 days ago
Bjorn - Admin - 2 days ago
Our Final Fantasy X/X2 HD Remaster review is OUT NOW! Check our ARTICLES section.
Bjorn - Admin - 3 days ago
New X360 DLC Review: Burial at Sea Episode 2 for BioShock Infinite. Check our Articles section.
Bjorn - Admin - 17 days ago
PS4/XO review of Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes now ONLINE!
Bjorn - Admin - 20 days ago
In depth review of Dark Souls II now online.
Bjorn - Admin - 24 days ago
Our THIEF review for next-gen is ONLINE now!
Bjorn - Admin - 27 days ago
New review: Dangan Ronpa: Trigger Happy Havoc for VITA.
NEW SHOUT
You must login to post in the shoutbox.
View All (724)
BORDERLANDS 2 (X360)
News Articles Screens Video Cheats FAQ Files Forum
85
BORDERLANDS 2 REVIEW
Borderlands was the surprise hit of 2009. With three years of development behind it, is Borderlands 2 one of the best shooters of all time?

Posted by PlayDevil.com Staff on Oct 9, 2012 14:58 (Oct 9, 2012 14:58)

Written by: Ian
 
 
Borderline brilliant:
 
Borderlands was the surprise hit of 2009. With three years of development behind it, is "Borderlands 2" one of the best shooters of all time? Gearbox have taken their time, bought in new classes, new enemies and the already insane numbers of guns have now gone through the roof.
 
My impressions at Gamescom were also very favourable, so I was wet with excitement when this game finally dropped through my letterbox.
 
Storyline:
 
Set 5 years after the original Borderlands, you’re still back on Pandora and are still a Vault-hunter, although you play one of a number of new characters. The old guys are still there though, handing out the quests this time (which seems odd as they were mute before), and a dude called Handsome Jack has turned up to try and kick the living crap out of you. With the help out the old hunters, ClapTrap and the crazy residents of Pandora (some new and some old), it’s up to you to go stop him. There’s definitely more of a coherent story here than in the first game, with more of a mystical feel to it.
 
It’s still not the strongest shooter story I’ve ever played, but it’s a decent improvement over the first game.
 
Gameplay:
 
Talking of the first game, if you ever played the first one, it’s not hard to see just how similar the two games are. There are new enemy types, but they mostly still run at you, and whilst the Ai has been improved to a degree, I was mostly able to just continue running backwards all the time, even if aiming took a little bit more skill.
 
Borderlands 2 screenshot #1
 
The missions are pretty similar, with the usual RPG tropes of fetch-quests, kill-quests, and a combination of the two, maybe with the odd little puzzle thrown in for good measure. I was pretty surprised at how similar the games were- part of me feels like it’s just an incredibly generous expansion pack. And incredibly generous it is.
 
There’s a 30- hour campaign, the chance to the start a new game +, and the other character classes to play through. 100% completion with the game would probably take upwards of 250 hours. And it’s the new character classes which are really the reason to play the game, and the things that change up the gameplay most over the first game. I’m playing as the ‘gunzerker’, a really big dude who has the ability to dual wield. In this mode, he gets to restore health and ammo as if by magic, gets to dual-wield, and generally be pretty bad-ass.
 
Borderlands 2 screenshot #2
 
All of the characters have their advantages and disadvantages, as usual, but none of them really feel that much like the originals, perhaps with the exception of the Commando, Anton. Either way, levelling up is still fun, although ideally I think I’d like to see a faster progression system. You spend the first five levels without any abilities, then they only trickle through just over once per hour of play. Given how much they change the way the game plays, I’d like to see a longer tree and faster levelling for sure.
 
Interaction
Rating:
0%
Login to submit your vote!
Share
URL Snag
Comments
Post Comment
Comment Rules
  1. No advertisments, flooding or spamming
  2. All comments should be on topic
  3. Use proper language to express yourself: no cursing or swear words
You may not post comments as a guest. Please register or login to your account.
Username:
Password:
Create a new account?
Forgot your password?



PlayDevil v2.0

PlayDevil v2.0

Click here to listen to PlayDevil's Gaming Podcasts REGISTER FREE on PlayDevil and GET these GOODIES FREE
Borderlands 2
Platform:
Xbox 360


ESRB - Not Yet Rated: Titles listed as RP (Rating Pending) have been submitted to the ESRB and are awaiting final rating. (This symbol appears only in advertising prior to a game's release.)
Our Score
User Score
85
Awesome
0
0 Votes
Game Ranking
Our members have ranked Borderlands 2 3875 out of 4,518 total games.

3874. Borderlands 2
Playstation 3

3875. Borderlands 2
Xbox 360

Screenshots All

Borderlands 2
View all 9 screens in the gallery. go
home forums blogs games articles media video cheats companies playstation 3 xbox 360 sony psp nintendo wii nintendo ds windows
News | Articles | Blogs | Files | Video | Cheats | Achievements | FAQ
Affiliates: Rock Band 2 | Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare | Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare | Assassin's Creed II | Battlefield 1943 | Super Street Fighter IV | Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit | PilotWings Resort | Ni No Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch | Half-Life 2