Xbox OneXbox 360Xbox Live ArcadePlayStation 4PlayStation 3PlayStationNetworkPS VitaNintendo Wii UNintendo Wii3DSNintendo DSPCBlu-ray
Search
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.

Login | Register | PW? ]
You have 0 points
   >>   Index     Blogs     Point Shop     Archive     News     Members     Online     Pages     Contact     Links     REGISTER FREE!
   >>   Index     Top 100     Upcoming     Cheats     FAQ
   >>   Index    Posts Today    Search
   >>   Index     Features     Reviews     Previews     Interviews     Hardware     Latest
   >>   Index     Latest     X360 Vids     XBLA Vids     PS3 Vids     PSN Vids     Wii Vids     NDS Vids     Win Vids
   >>   Index     Latest     X360 Shots     XBLA Shots     PS3 Shots     PSN Shots     Wii Shots     DS Shots     PC Shots
   >>   Index     Latest
The Legend of Zelda:...
90% - 304 days ago

Lost Planet 3 Review
90% - Oct 1, 2013 14:29

Rayman Legends Review
90% - Sep 13, 2013 10:52

Tom Clancy's Splinte...
90% - Sep 10, 2013 09:45

BioShock Infinite Re...
80% - Jul 30, 2013 07:39
Bjorn - Admin - 20 hours ago
Our Sunset Overdrive review is online NOW! Give it a read!
Bjorn - Admin - 21 hours ago
New PC Review: Middle-Earth: Shadow Of Mordor
Bjorn - Admin - Yesterday
Alien: Isolation review for Xbox One, ready to read!
Bjorn - Admin - 3 days ago
NEW XO Review: Forza Horizon 2!!
Bjorn - Admin - 10 days ago
New RPG PC Review: Wasteland 2. Check our PC Section!
Bjorn - Admin - 17 days ago
New VITA Review: Danganronpa 2: Goodbye Despair is now ONLINE.
NEW SHOUT
You must login to post in the shoutbox.
View All (786)
DARKSIDERS II (X360)
News Articles Screens Video Cheats FAQ Files Forum
85
DARKSIDERS II REVIEW
Take on the role of death as the four horsemen of the apocalypse return.

Posted by PlayDevil.com Staff on Sep 26, 2012 10:50 (Sep 26, 2012 10:50)

Written by: Mark
 
 
Return to the Dark Side:
 
I would like to start this review by stating that I really enjoyed the original 'Darksiders' (review) and gave it a glowing review when it was first released back in 2010. With this in mind I was excited to get my hands on the sequel to see if this delivers the same exciting thrill ride.
 
In this review we take a look at "Darksiders II" to see if it can live up to (or even better) the enjoyment of the first and see if it was deserving of the accolade of Playdevil.com’s featured game of the month for September 2012.
 
Storyline:
 
The storyline in Darksiders 2 is an interesting one and is once again centred around the four horsemen of the apocalypse. In the original title the player took on the role of War who was out to redeem himself and this time the player takes on the role of Death who is out to prove that his brother (War) was not responsible for causing the apocalypse.
 
As you progress with the rather lengthy and enjoyable quest more characters are met who have a bearing on proceedings and help explain the events around War and how he was falsely blamed for the death of mankind. This leads to some very good story driven interactions and action scenes which help the storyline to flow well whilst throwing up twists on many occasions.
 
Darksiders II screenshot #1
 
Admittedly Darksiders 2 may not ultimately be the best storyline that I have ever experienced but it certainly proves rather engrossing and makes the game a pretty memorable one.
 
Presentation:
 
One of the major plus points of the original Darksiders was around the way the game was presented and the sequel certainly outperforms the original in every respect whether this being from the excellent graphics to the well designed and voiced characters and superb musical score.
 
As you progress you will experience some scenes which can only be described as epic and give the game a very polished feel indeed. If I were to criticise one aspect of presentation then I would have to say that as with many games that involve combat against large numbers the camera does the game no favours at all. This is particularly evident when in battle and pressing dodge buttons as your character flies around each area with the camera often struggling to keep up meaning that you can be open to unseen attacks.
 
This to be honest is the only real negative I have about how the game is presented as it is certainly a high quality experience which on looks and sounds will certainly compete with the best available in 2012.
 
Darksiders II screenshot #2
 
Gameplay:
 
Darksiders 2 certainly offers a nice amount of diversity in its gameplay whether this being from the free running style jumping and leaping, the puzzle elements which intersperse levels, the vast array of combat and of course the RPG style of character upgrading.
 
This certainly means that there is something on offer for fans of most genres of games but have the developers sacrificed quality over quantity? The answer is no!
 
Interaction
Rating:
90%
Login to submit your vote!
Share
URL Snag
Comments
Post Comment
Comment Rules
  1. No advertisments, flooding or spamming
  2. All comments should be on topic
  3. Use proper language to express yourself: no cursing or swear words
You may not post comments as a guest. Please register or login to your account.
Username:
Password:
Create a new account?
Forgot your password?



PlayDevil v2.0

PlayDevil v2.0

Click here to listen to PlayDevil's Gaming Podcasts REGISTER FREE on PlayDevil and GET these GOODIES FREE
Darksiders II
Platform:
Xbox 360

  • Release:
    US: August 21, 2012
    EU: August 21, 2012
  • Publisher:
    THQ
  • Developer:
    Vigil Games

ESRB - Not Yet Rated: Titles listed as RP (Rating Pending) have been submitted to the ESRB and are awaiting final rating. (This symbol appears only in advertising prior to a game's release.)
Our Score
User Score
85
Awesome
0
0 Votes
Game Ranking
Our members have ranked Darksiders II 3840 out of 4,699 total games.

3839. Darksiders II
Playstation 3

3840. Darksiders II
Xbox 360

3841. XCOM
Playstation 3
Screenshots All

Darksiders II
View all 10 screens in the gallery. go
home forums blogs games articles media video cheats companies playstation 3 xbox 360 sony psp nintendo wii nintendo ds windows
News | Articles | Blogs | Files | Video | Cheats | Achievements | FAQ
Affiliates: Rock Band 2 | Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare | Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare | Assassin's Creed II | Battlefield 1943 | Super Street Fighter IV | Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit | PilotWings Resort | Ni No Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch | Half-Life 2