Xbox OneXbox 360Xbox Live ArcadePlayStation 4PlayStation 3PlayStationNetworkPS VitaNintendo Wii UNintendo Wii3DSNintendo DSPCBlu-ray
Search
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.

Login | Register | PW? ]
You have 0 points
   >>   Index     Blogs     Point Shop     Archive     News     Members     Online     Pages     Contact     Links     REGISTER FREE!
   >>   Index     Top 100     Upcoming     Cheats     FAQ
   >>   Index    Posts Today    Search
   >>   Index     Features     Reviews     Previews     Interviews     Hardware     Latest
   >>   Index     Latest     X360 Vids     XBLA Vids     PS3 Vids     PSN Vids     Wii Vids     NDS Vids     Win Vids
   >>   Index     Latest     X360 Shots     XBLA Shots     PS3 Shots     PSN Shots     Wii Shots     DS Shots     PC Shots
   >>   Index     Latest
The Legend of Zelda:...
90% - 327 days ago

Lost Planet 3 Review
90% - Oct 1, 2013 14:29

Rayman Legends Review
90% - Sep 13, 2013 10:52

Tom Clancy's Splinte...
90% - Sep 10, 2013 09:45

BioShock Infinite Re...
80% - Jul 30, 2013 07:39
Bjorn - Admin - 4 days ago
New review online: Lords Of The Fallen, read it now!
Bjorn - Admin - 4 days ago
This mornings review: Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel for Xbox 360.
Bjorn - Admin - 5 days ago
New Xbox One review: HALO: THE MASTER CHIEF COLLECTION!
Bjorn - Admin - 8 days ago
New PS4 review: The Legend Of Korra. Check it out!
Bjorn - Admin - 9 days ago
Check out our new SITE BACKGROUND! Assassin's Creed: Unity!
Bjorn - Admin - 9 days ago
NBA 2K15 review is ONLINE NOW!
NEW SHOUT
You must login to post in the shoutbox.
View All (797)
PLANTS VS ZOMBIES (XBLA)
News Articles Screens Video Cheats FAQ Files Forum
81
PLANTS VS ZOMBIES REVIEW
Featuring plants, zombies and new game modes. How will Popcap’s smash hit fare on the next gen consoles?

Posted by PlayDevil.com Staff on Nov 5, 2010 13:48 (Nov 5, 2010 13:48)

Written by: Mark
 
 
 
Introduction:
 
Popcap have undoubtedly become one of the greatest developers of casual games and in particular have become a huge success on the PC and various handheld markets particularly the iPhone.
 
Following on from their successful hit XBLA conversions of Bejewelled 2 and the excellent Peggle, Popcap returns with their latest XBLA offering "Plants vs. Zombies" which has already received superb acclaim across various platforms.
 
Personally I am familiar with the iPhone version which has given me hours of enjoyment and when I heard of the XBLA release I could not wait to get my hands on a true next gen console version to see if it improves on what is already a great game.
 
More tower defence:
 
The tower defence genre has always captivated numerous players thanks in no small part to the thousands of releases however I will admit that there are very few which have seen me as engrossed as Plants vs. Zombies.
 
I will say to anyone in two minds about purchasing the game to take the plunge as this is one game in the genre which is totally unique and offers a massive amount of variation and gameplay modes.
 
A costly experience:
 
I will hold my hands up and say that I was rather shocked to see that the game was announced as being released as a 1200ms point cost particularly in comparison to releases on other platforms.
 
Plants Vs. Zombies XBLA screenshot #1
 
In defence of Popcap however I will say that whilst 1200ms points may seem a little off putting at first Plants vs. Zombies is undoubtedly one the more enjoyable titles available in this price bracket and with new and exclusive content for the Xbox 360 this is made more acceptable.
 
Graphics & Sound:
 
The first thing which strikes you about the game is the vibrant colours used in the cartoon style presentation. Undoubtedly this sets the scene that the game is designed to appeal to a mass market and I have to say that it works very well.
 
Although the action takes place on a single screen the environments regularly change which again helps the game to have more longevity and along with the superbly animated variety of humorous zombie attackers this makes the game very pleasing in it’s overall presentation.
 
The same can be said with the sound which accompanies the action well with a nice musical score and superbly funny zombie effects which maintain the humour factor and help the game to flow very well.
 
Gameplay:
 
The main objective of Plants vs. Zombies sees the player in control of a garden which is coming under a mass zombie attack and to repel this the player has a variety of plants at their disposal to keep them at bay.
 
Plants Vs. Zombies XBLA screenshot #2
 
The plants offer nice variety amongst the forty eight different types which have to be used strategically to keep the zombies at bay. To further add to the tactical approach the plants can only be used once the player has gathered enough sunshine to purchase the required plants. Once the wave of attacks step up this can certainly require some quick thinking and this is where the addictive gameplay nature comes in to it’s own.
 
Whilst there are an incredible amount of plants to be used the main danger could prove to be that the zombies could become repetitive and I have to say that there is no danger of this what so ever as the developers have included a staggering range of twenty six types which range from the basic shouting for brains to the far more humorous such as football players and those who disco dance there way into proceedings and look like something out of Michael Jackson’s Thriller…….Superb!!!!
 
Interaction
Rating:
0%
Login to submit your vote!
Share
URL Snag
Comments
Post Comment
Comment Rules
  1. No advertisments, flooding or spamming
  2. All comments should be on topic
  3. Use proper language to express yourself: no cursing or swear words
You may not post comments as a guest. Please register or login to your account.
Username:
Password:
Create a new account?
Forgot your password?



PlayDevil v2.0

PlayDevil v2.0

Click here to listen to PlayDevil's Gaming Podcasts REGISTER FREE on PlayDevil and GET these GOODIES FREE
Plants Vs Zombies
Platform:
Xbox Live Arcade

  • Release:
    US: September 8, 2010
    EU: August 8, 2010
  • Publisher:
    PopCap
  • Developer:
    PopCap

ESRB - Everyone 10+: Titles rated E10+ (Everyone 10 and older) have content that may be suitable for ages 10 and older. Titles in this category may contain more cartoon, fantasy or mild violence, mild language and/or minimal suggestive themes.
Our Score
User Score
81
Good
0
0 Votes
Game Ranking
Our members have ranked Plants Vs Zombies 3618 out of 4,718 total games.

3617. Rango The Video Game
Xbox 360

3618. Plants Vs Zombies
Xbox Live Arcade

3619. Need for Speed World
Windows
Screenshots All

Plants Vs Zombies
View all 8 screens in the gallery. go »
home forums blogs games articles media video cheats companies playstation 3 xbox 360 sony psp nintendo wii nintendo ds windows
News | Articles | Blogs | Files | Video | Cheats | Achievements | FAQ
Affiliates: Rock Band 2 | Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare | Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare | Assassin's Creed II | Battlefield 1943 | Super Street Fighter IV | Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit | PilotWings Resort | Ni No Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch | Half-Life 2