Xbox OneXbox 360Xbox Live ArcadePlayStation 4PlayStation 3PlayStationNetworkPS VitaNintendo Wii UNintendo Wii3DSNintendo DSPCBlu-ray
Search
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.

Login | Register | PW? ]
You have 0 points
   >>   Index     Blogs     Point Shop     Archive     News     Members     Online     Pages     Contact     Links     REGISTER FREE!
   >>   Index     Top 100     Upcoming     Cheats     FAQ
   >>   Index    Posts Today    Search
   >>   Index     Features     Reviews     Previews     Interviews     Hardware     Latest
   >>   Index     Latest     X360 Vids     XBLA Vids     PS3 Vids     PSN Vids     Wii Vids     NDS Vids     Win Vids
   >>   Index     Latest     X360 Shots     XBLA Shots     PS3 Shots     PSN Shots     Wii Shots     DS Shots     PC Shots
   >>   Index     Latest
The Legend of Zelda:...
90% - 325 days ago

Lost Planet 3 Review
90% - Oct 1, 2013 14:29

Rayman Legends Review
90% - Sep 13, 2013 10:52

Tom Clancy's Splinte...
90% - Sep 10, 2013 09:45

BioShock Infinite Re...
80% - Jul 30, 2013 07:39
Bjorn - Admin - 2 days ago
New review online: Lords Of The Fallen, read it now!
Bjorn - Admin - 2 days ago
This mornings review: Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel for Xbox 360.
Bjorn - Admin - 3 days ago
New Xbox One review: HALO: THE MASTER CHIEF COLLECTION!
Bjorn - Admin - 6 days ago
New PS4 review: The Legend Of Korra. Check it out!
Bjorn - Admin - 7 days ago
Check out our new SITE BACKGROUND! Assassin's Creed: Unity!
Bjorn - Admin - 7 days ago
NBA 2K15 review is ONLINE NOW!
NEW SHOUT
You must login to post in the shoutbox.
View All (797)
KANE & LYNCH 2: DOG DAYS (X360)
News Articles Screens Video Cheats FAQ Files Forum
78
KANE & LYNCH 2: DOG DAYS REVIEW
The first Kane & Lynch caused a lot of controversy. This second title has looked solid in previous though, so will it live up to expectations?

Posted by PlayDevil.com Staff on Sep 14, 2010 15:25 (Sep 14, 2010 15:25)

Written by: Ian
 
 
Is this a dog's dinner?
 
The first Kane & Lynch caused a lot of controversy. This second title, "Kane & Lynch 2: Dog Days" has looked solid in previous though, so will it live up to expectations?
 
Story:
 
Kane & Lynch haven’t seen each other since Venezuela, but Lynch, seemingly settled down, has got one last, easy job for the criminal pair. Unfortunately, and predictably, it all goes pear-shaped pretty much straight away.
 
The pair kill the daughter of an important criminal, and get half of Shanghai on their tail as they try to escape the city. The story is mostly an excuse to trigger lots of shooting events, and it’s a shame that not much is played on Lynch’s fragile mental state, but generally the cut-scenes are frequent, and pretty enjoyable vapid action.
 
Gameplay:
 
A standard cover-based shooter- Kane & Lynch 2 has dropped any pretence of being a successor to Freedom Fighters. Whilst in some missions you fight in squads- you have no control over them at all- you can’t even issue orders to Kane- in fact, you don’t need to do anything at all.
 
Kane & Lynch 2 Dog Days X360 screenshot #1
 
In single player, all the co-op moves are completed automatically, and your AI partner doesn’t even need to heal ever (annoyingly they can’t heal you either). The AI seems decent enough, although this kind of game is doubtlessly made for co-op. K&L doesn’t really add anything to the mix other than a really shaky camera, that frankly made me feel ill (thankfully you can turn this off in the options menu at any point).
 
There are 11 linear, scripted chapters of hardcore action that rarely stops, choosing to keep the action as breathless as possible- like the youtube videos it tries to emulate. The gunplay is generally pretty decent, although some rifles can be annoyingly inaccurate at times, meaning that you will sometimes be forced forwards to progress.
 
K&L2 has lots of glitches though, which drag things down. The sprint button was just broken for me. I used three controllers, and none of them would make my characters sprint forwards consistently, and sometimes it would kick in after about 2 seconds of holding the button down. I also had a cut-scene crash on me, forcing a hard reset, and another just break and cut out to some broken gameplay, forcing me to replay the checkpoint. I also had the odd loading problem in multiplayer, and some graphical glitches I’ve described below.
 
Kane & Lynch 2 Dog Days X360 screenshot #2
 
The game also has some basic problems- there are no grenades at all (although you can throw and blow up items like gas canisters- so ballistic physics are included in the game), so you can always sit and wait for enemies in cover. There aren’t many weapons, and all the shotguns feel overpowered and over-ranged.
 
Kane & Lynch 2: Dog Days is also really short. I completed the game in under four hours. And that’s only because it’s pretty tough even on easy. On extreme it will take plenty longer, but if you went straight into co-op, there’s no reason you couldn’t get every achievement in 6-7 hours or so. And with the backwards co-op options (no join in progress, one player quitting dumps the other back to the menu too), and lack of multiplayer content, Kane & Lynch will not be a sound investment for those that can only afford 2-3 games a year. I saw everything I needed to see in about 8 hours total, including multiplayer.
 
Interaction
Rating:
70%
Login to submit your vote!
Share
URL Snag
Comments
Post Comment
Comment Rules
  1. No advertisments, flooding or spamming
  2. All comments should be on topic
  3. Use proper language to express yourself: no cursing or swear words
You may not post comments as a guest. Please register or login to your account.
Username:
Password:
Create a new account?
Forgot your password?



PlayDevil v2.0

PlayDevil v2.0

Click here to listen to PlayDevil's Gaming Podcasts REGISTER FREE on PlayDevil and GET these GOODIES FREE
Kane & Lynch 2: Dog Days
Platform:
Xbox 360


ESRB - Not Yet Rated: Titles listed as RP (Rating Pending) have been submitted to the ESRB and are awaiting final rating. (This symbol appears only in advertising prior to a game's release.)
Our Score
User Score
78
Good
0
0 Votes
Game Ranking
Our members have ranked Kane & Lynch 2: Dog Days 3310 out of 4,718 total games.

3309. Kane & Lynch 2: Dog Days
Windows

3310. Kane & Lynch 2: Dog Days
Xbox 360

3311. Tropico 3
Xbox 360
Screenshots All

Kane & Lynch 2: Dog Days
View all 10 screens in the gallery. go
home forums blogs games articles media video cheats companies playstation 3 xbox 360 sony psp nintendo wii nintendo ds windows
News | Articles | Blogs | Files | Video | Cheats | Achievements | FAQ
Affiliates: Rock Band 2 | Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare | Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare | Assassin's Creed II | Battlefield 1943 | Super Street Fighter IV | Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit | PilotWings Resort | Ni No Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch | Half-Life 2