Xbox OneXbox 360Xbox Live ArcadePlayStation 4PlayStation 3PlayStationNetworkPS VitaNintendo Wii UNintendo Wii3DSNintendo DSPCBlu-ray
Search
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.

Login | Register | PW? ]
You have 0 points
   >>   Index     Blogs     Point Shop     Archive     News     Members     Online     Pages     Contact     Links     REGISTER FREE!
   >>   Index     Top 100     Upcoming     Cheats     FAQ
   >>   Index    Posts Today    Search
   >>   Index     Features     Reviews     Previews     Interviews     Hardware     Latest
   >>   Index     Latest     X360 Vids     XBLA Vids     PS3 Vids     PSN Vids     Wii Vids     NDS Vids     Win Vids
   >>   Index     Latest     X360 Shots     XBLA Shots     PS3 Shots     PSN Shots     Wii Shots     DS Shots     PC Shots
   >>   Index     Latest
The Legend of Zelda:...
90% - 240 days ago

Lost Planet 3 Review
90% - 331 days ago

Rayman Legends Review
90% - 349 days ago

Tom Clancy's Splinte...
90% - 352 days ago

BioShock Infinite Re...
80% - Jul 30, 2013 07:39
Bjorn - Admin - 6 days ago
New review: Ultra Street Fighter IV! Check out our ARTICLES section to read more.
Bjorn - Admin - 9 days ago
New PS4 review online: The Last Of Us Remastered
Bjorn - Admin - 10 days ago
New trailers on the site.
Bjorn - Admin - 17 days ago
A new PC review is online: Gods Will Be Watching, check it out!
Bjorn - Admin - 19 days ago
Sacred 3 review is online! Check out our articles section.
Bjorn - Admin - 20 days ago
Review of the new episode of The Walking Dead Season 2 "Amid the Ruins" is now live.
NEW SHOUT
You must login to post in the shoutbox.
View All (765)
DEMON'S SOULS REVIEW
From Software brings a new kind of action RPG to PS3.

Posted by PlayDevil.com Staff on Aug 5, 2010 17:52 (Aug 5, 2010 17:52)

Written by: Alex
 
 
Action RPG:
 
From Software’s latest release, "Demon’s Souls" is something of an oddity. Medieval dungeon crawling with action RPG leanings sound like your usual gaming clichés at first, but look a little deeper and you quickly begin to see many unique elements. But do these twists serve to improve on the genre, or mealy provide unwanted levels of complexity.
 
Story:
 
The game starts by unceremonious thrusting players into the kingdom of Boletaria. Tasked with saving the kingdom, players march towards the light that signifies the first area of the game.
 
Little else is known, and the game wont give up much more information unless you are prepared to fight for it.
 
Difficulty:
 
Even this first training area of the game gives a sense of oppression. A kingdom in ruin, its only life comes from shambling soulless beings that inhabit its castles corridors; animated corpses that attack without reason. Fighting through the fodder the game initially threw at me I wondered why online reports talked of the games difficulty. Then I entered the final chamber and died at the hands a beast whose stomach filled my screen.
 
Demon's Souls PS3 screenshot #1
 
Seconds later I reappeared as a spirit in the Nexus, Demon’s Souls’ hub world, where the game
really begins. It’s a brutal beginning to the game, especially in the modern console space, which tends to spoon-feed players through the first sections of the game. It quickly establishes that this is a game for the experienced, not casual players. It requires you know games, and that you are willing to commit to playing it if you want to really get the most out of it.
 
Demon’s Souls forces a slow methodic pace on the player. Every turn offers a chance of death. Even the smallest enemies can over power the player caught off guard and entering an area blindly will usually lead to death. The route through level is completely open, making it possible to take the wrong turn and, without knowing it, face an enemy many levels higher than it is possible to defeat.
 
Death as a mechanic:
 
Fortunately death proves only a minor setback. The only real appreciable effect of dying (there are some higher level effect on the world) is a loss of souls. Souls function as both experience and currency, so this can be an annoyance, but the lost souls can be recovered if you can return to your final resting place before you die again.
 
Demon's Souls PS3 screenshot #2
 
Depending on where you die this can prove either a mild annoyance or a total impossibility. If you plough through the game you will often find yourself cut off with no path to retreat. In these situations there is rarely a chance of you making it back to the bloodstain that signifies your last death, leaving you with all of you souls lost. Personally on more than one occasion I entered an area I have no business venturing in to. My overconfidence soon saw me slaughtered, leaving my soul filled bloodstain tantalizingly out of reach of my still underpowered hero.
 
Interaction
Rating:
100%
Login to submit your vote!
Share
URL Snag
Comments
Post Comment
Comment Rules
  1. No advertisments, flooding or spamming
  2. All comments should be on topic
  3. Use proper language to express yourself: no cursing or swear words
You may not post comments as a guest. Please register or login to your account.
Username:
Password:
Create a new account?
Forgot your password?



PlayDevil v2.0

PlayDevil v2.0

Click here to listen to PlayDevil's Gaming Podcasts REGISTER FREE on PlayDevil and GET these GOODIES FREE
Demon's Souls
Platform:
Playstation 3


ESRB - Not Yet Rated: Titles listed as RP (Rating Pending) have been submitted to the ESRB and are awaiting final rating. (This symbol appears only in advertising prior to a game's release.)
  • Genre:
    RPG
  • MSRP:
    -
Our Score
User Score
95
Unbelievable!
0
0 Votes
Game Ranking
Our members have ranked Demon\'s Souls 3283 out of 4,660 total games.

3282. Matt Hazard: Blood Bath and Beyond
Xbox Live Arcade

3283. Demon\'s Souls
Playstation 3

3284. NBA 2K10
Nintendo Wii
Screenshots All

Demon\'s Souls
View all 8 screens in the gallery. go
home forums blogs games articles media video cheats companies playstation 3 xbox 360 sony psp nintendo wii nintendo ds windows
News | Articles | Blogs | Files | Video | Cheats | Achievements | FAQ
Affiliates: Rock Band 2 | Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare | Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare | Assassin's Creed II | Battlefield 1943 | Super Street Fighter IV | Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit | PilotWings Resort | Ni No Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch | Half-Life 2