Xbox OneXbox 360Xbox Live ArcadePlayStation 4PlayStation 3PlayStationNetworkPS VitaNintendo Wii UNintendo Wii3DSNintendo DSPCBlu-ray
Search
Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.

Login | Register | PW? ]
You have 0 points
   >>   Index     Blogs     Point Shop     Archive     News     Members     Online     Pages     Contact     Links     REGISTER FREE!
   >>   Index     Top 100     Upcoming     Cheats     FAQ
   >>   Index    Posts Today    Search
   >>   Index     Features     Reviews     Previews     Interviews     Hardware     Latest
   >>   Index     Latest     X360 Vids     XBLA Vids     PS3 Vids     PSN Vids     Wii Vids     NDS Vids     Win Vids
   >>   Index     Latest     X360 Shots     XBLA Shots     PS3 Shots     PSN Shots     Wii Shots     DS Shots     PC Shots
   >>   Index     Latest
The Legend of Zelda:...
90% - 236 days ago

Lost Planet 3 Review
90% - 326 days ago

Rayman Legends Review
90% - 344 days ago

Tom Clancy's Splinte...
90% - 347 days ago

BioShock Infinite Re...
80% - Jul 30, 2013 07:39
Bjorn - Admin - Yesterday
New review: Ultra Street Fighter IV! Check out our ARTICLES section to read more.
Bjorn - Admin - 5 days ago
New PS4 review online: The Last Of Us Remastered
Bjorn - Admin - 5 days ago
New trailers on the site.
Bjorn - Admin - 12 days ago
A new PC review is online: Gods Will Be Watching, check it out!
Bjorn - Admin - 15 days ago
Sacred 3 review is online! Check out our articles section.
Bjorn - Admin - 15 days ago
Review of the new episode of The Walking Dead Season 2 "Amid the Ruins" is now live.
NEW SHOUT
You must login to post in the shoutbox.
View All (765)
HEAVY RAIN (PS3)
News Articles Screens Video Cheats FAQ Files Forum
88
HEAVY RAIN REVIEW
Heavy Rain finally falls on to the PS3.

Posted by PlayDevil.com Staff on Apr 2, 2010 10:31 (Apr 2, 2010 10:31)

Written by: Alex
 
 
A rainy day:
 
"Heavy Rain" has some interesting aspirations in its desire to blend cinema and games.
 
Developed by Quantic Dream exclusively for the PS3 the game attempts to draw players in to the events that unfold by placing an emphasis on characters lives, motivations and emotions. With film noir styling and a near photo realistic graphics the game does a good job moving towards its goals.
 
But whether or not you believe the direction Heavy Rain tries to move gaming is the right one, it is hard to ignore the importance of the attempt.
 
Story:
 
Being essentially a movie with branching story elements it is hard to talk about specifics of the plot without ruining the experience. To give a simple overview, I took control four characters through out the story, each on the trail of the Origami serial killer. With the killer only abducting young boys and drowning them in rainwater he presents an easily demonised antagonist, explaining the high emotions of everyone involved in the case.
 
Though the game’s four lead characters paths’ rarely intersect the events of their stories play out consecutively. Each character’s plot does have an interplay with the others that I found at times entertaining to watch unfurl, because as the player I was often better informed than any of the characters under my control.
 
Heavy RainPS3 screenshot #1
 
Of the four characters Ethan could probably be described as the lead. A down on his luck father who lost one son in a car accident and now had his remaining son abducted by the killer. This is who you start the game as, before his life falls apart with the death of his son. Taking control of him during a normal day it begins very slowly, setting a trend for the game of engaging in mundane tasks to form a connection with the character. An effective device, but one that at times can feel laborious.
 
Each of the other three characters I took control of were on the trail for less emotional reasons, an FBI agent, and private investigator and a reporter all have reasons to be involved beyond their jobs, but still their concern comes from a more rational place. While these character’s stories are not as fleshed out at Ethan’s their intentions and personalities are still clear thanks to the use of an internal monologue. Holding L2 and any of the face buttons allow the character thoughts were revealed to me. It sounds contrived, but it is a simple addition that gave me hints as to what I was meant to be doing, as well as fleshing out newly introduced characters.
 
I feel that Heavy Rain is successful in establishing a connection between the player and it characters, but this link also leads to problems. It becomes hard to role-play each character because they are fully realised that all I felt able to do was guide their reactions rather than control the actions. Imposing my own story on the character felt incongruous to the tale the game wanted to tell, and the personality of my avatar.
 
Heavy RainPS3 screenshot #2
 
I have complaints about the story that are directly relevant to my enjoyment of Heavy Rain, but it is difficult to comment on without giving away to much, so I will use an example from the US drama presidential drama West Wing. If you have never seen the show, don’t worry my analogy is simple enough. In one episode a leak is made to the press about a secret military space shuttle that could rescue a struggling NASA craft. Throughout the story, during key scenes, the camera is firmly fixed on the press secretary, showing her worry about the situation – and probable guilt given she was one of the few people who knew about it. It turned out not to be her, yet the entire episode was designed to make the viewer think it was. It deliberately miss lead the audience. It didn’t unfold like the movie ‘The Sixth Sense’ which dropped hints of the real plot; instead it just lied. Heavy Rain commits a similar sin, but perhaps even more severely given that as a player with the ability to interact with the story I was being lied to directly by the director.
 
Gameplay:
 
It would be easy to view the main mechanic of Heavy Rain as a torturous string of quick time events. Indicators as to what key press, or motion to perform, are continually flashed on screen indicating to me what I should be doing during each scene as it unfolds.
 
Even in scenes where I am allowed more agency as a player the extent of my powers are to robotically walk around. Thanks to an unfamiliar control scheme, more akin to driving than a usual third person game, these walking sections more often than not result in me bumping, illusion shatteringly, into walls. As I bounced my way through the world I spent my time scouring areas for important elements in the environment, indicated by icons that represent the button press or motion required to interactive with them, to move the story on.
 
Interaction
Rating:
90%
Login to submit your vote!
Share
URL Snag
Comments
Post Comment
Comment Rules
  1. No advertisments, flooding or spamming
  2. All comments should be on topic
  3. Use proper language to express yourself: no cursing or swear words
You may not post comments as a guest. Please register or login to your account.
Username:
Password:
Create a new account?
Forgot your password?



PlayDevil v2.0

PlayDevil v2.0

Click here to listen to PlayDevil's Gaming Podcasts REGISTER FREE on PlayDevil and GET these GOODIES FREE
Heavy Rain
Platform:
Playstation 3

  • Release:
    US: February 26, 2010
    EU: February 26, 2010
  • Publisher:
    SCEE
  • Developer:
    Quantic Dream

ESRB - Not Yet Rated: Titles listed as RP (Rating Pending) have been submitted to the ESRB and are awaiting final rating. (This symbol appears only in advertising prior to a game's release.)
Our Score
User Score
88
Awesome
0
0 Votes
Game Ranking
Our members have ranked Heavy Rain 2056 out of 4,656 total games.

2055. Lair
Playstation 3

2056. Heavy Rain
Playstation 3

2057. Sonic Unleashed
Playstation 3
Screenshots All

Heavy Rain
View all 14 screens in the gallery. go
Video All
Heavy Rain E3 '09 Tr...
Views: 613
Length: 1:41
Posted: Jun 3, 2009 11:40
home forums blogs games articles media video cheats companies playstation 3 xbox 360 sony psp nintendo wii nintendo ds windows
News | Articles | Blogs | Files | Video | Cheats | Achievements | FAQ
Affiliates: Rock Band 2 | Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare | Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare | Assassin's Creed II | Battlefield 1943 | Super Street Fighter IV | Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit | PilotWings Resort | Ni No Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch | Half-Life 2